Lander Diversity Advisory Council: Hinduism

This guide has been created using information found within the library's print and digital collections. You will find previews to articles of interest with links available to access the full article and links from our streaming video collections. To access the full article or video you simply click on the link and log in using your Lander single sign on credentials. If you need help, please reach out to a librarian.

This mind map about hinduism was created using the library's Credo Reference database. Simply click on the mind map to navigate within Credo Reference's materials about Hinduism.

• Films Media Group. (2017). The saffron revolution, episode 5. Films On Demand. 
  • The world's oldest religion is a way of life for many people; Ganesh, Hanuman, and Lord Shiva are part of pop culture. Varanasi is the most sacred place for devout Hindus. Azhar meets a holy man and attends the festival of Maha Shivaratri.
• Films Media Group. (2012). Hinduism: The eternal way—let's look at world religions. Films On Demand.
  • Learn some of the holy festivals of Hinduism, including Holi, and Diwali. Revelers in London's Trafalgar Square celebrate Diwali. See family members perform a ritual to invite Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth into the home. Visit a temple where offerings of baked goods are mounded on an altar.

Upcoming Festivals in January

• Makara Sankranti / Pongal
  • Learn more about Pongal by reading this short 339 word read from Culture Studies: Holidays Around the World in Credo Reference.
  • Learn the definition of Makara Sankranti with this read from Credo Reference.
    • Makara Sankranti. (2017). In S. Butler (Ed.), Macquarie Dictionary (7th ed.). Macquarie Dictionary Publishers. Credo Reference.
• Thaipusam
  • Learn more about Thaipusam by reading this 600 word overview from Culture Studies: Holidays Around the World in Credo Reference.​​​​​​​​​​​​

• Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Hinduism. Britannica Academic.
  • This reference material provides an in-depth overview of hinduism divided into headings that cover the history; sacred texts; practical Hinduism; rituals, social practices, and institutions; and Hinduism and the world beyond. 
• Abrutyn, S. (2012). Hinduism. In G. Ritzer, Blackwell encyclopedias in social sciences: the Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of globalization. Wiley. 
  • This is an overview of the history of Hinduism. (~ 3,000 words)
• Hinduism. (2001). In J. M. Palmisano (Ed.), World of sociology, Gale. Gale.
  • This is a short overview of the origins of Hinduism, which is the third largest of the world's religions and one of the most ancient. (741 words)

• Films Media Group. (2007). Hinduism. [Video File.] Films On Demand. 
  • In this program, Dennis Wholey has a conversation about Hinduism with Sadhvi Vrnda Chaitanya of Arsha Vijnana Mandiram.  (27 minutes)
• Films Media Group. (2012). Hinduism: The eternal way—let's look at world religions. [Video File]. Films On Demand. 
  • Its followers prefer to call it Sanatana Dharma—the Eternal Way—but in the West the 4,000-year-old group of practices and beliefs is known as Hinduism. This program traces the origins of Hinduism before examining its main tenets, major deities, and sacred texts. A part of the series Let’s Look at World Religions. (22 minutes)
• TMW Media. (2013). What is Hinduism? [Video file]. Kanopy.
  • Host Tevya begins his spiritual quest by investigating Hinduism, a faith with some 900 million followers worldwide. He attends the Durga Puja festival, an annual celebration for the Hindu goddess Durga with his teen guide Kritika. Tevya explores Little India searching for a present for the goddess and learns a little Kathak dancing with Kritika along the way! (25 minutes)
• The Great Course. (2017). Introduction to India [Video file]. Kanopy.
  • Delve into core aspects of Indian culture that provide a rich background for the story of British rule. Grasp the key precepts of Hinduism, and the notions of dharma, karma, and samsara. Study the caste system, the features of Indian families and marriages, and explore how society and religion shape politics in India. (33 minutes)