Jackson Library: Lander Diversity Advisory Council: Diversity Basics

Introduction to DEI

Databases and Journals to Explore

African-American History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, this database offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture.
Contains primary source material.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Original profiles, full-text articles, biographical profiles, articles, interviews, essays, reviews, speeches, images, and obituaries.
Culture Grams This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Country reports that include the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Enciclopedia Moderna This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish reference center covering arts, geography, philosophy, science, sports, and much more.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
In depth coverage of global issues.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Women's studies focus.

Journal of cultural diversity
Presents the distinct nature & health-care needs of the multi-cultural patient with original research.
The International journal of information, diversity, & inclusion
The International Journal of Information, Diversity, & Inclusion (IJIDI) presents wide ranging and multidisciplinary perspectives on the intersection of equity, social justice, and information.
more...less...
The International Journal of Information, Diversity, & Inclusion (IJIDI) presents wide ranging and multidisciplinary perspectives on the intersection of equity, social justice, and information.

Library Film Resources

Kanopy provides classic cinema, Indie films and top documentaries. Scroll through for some examples of what you can find in this database

Agents of Change : The Longest Student Strike in U.S. History

AGENTS OF CHANGE tells the timely and inspiring story of how successful protests for equity and inclusion led to establishing the first Black and Ethnic Studies departments at two very different universities: San Francisco State (1968) and Cornell (1969).

Movie poster featuring a smiling boy in a wheelchair

Certain Proof : Students with Disabilities Fight for Inclusion in Public Schools

A documentary is about three children living with significant communication and physical disabilities struggling against the public schools in an emotional battle to prove their worth.

Movie poster featuring three adults against a sky background

Drawn Together : Comics, Diversity and Stereotypes

Three talented artists--a Sikh, a woman, and an African American--who are challenging the racist stereotyping currently endemic in America through their work.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides access to educational and documentary videos, neatly grouped into convenient subject-specific categories.

I Rise

Go inside the lives of people working to create an antiracist American future.

Black and white film still featuring a man in a wheel chair

CinemAbility: The Art of Inclusion

A documentary that takes a thought-provoking and often humorous look at the evolution of disability portrayals in entertainment.

We Shall Remain : America Through Native Eyes

From the award-winning PBS series American Experience comes We Shall Remain, a provocative multi-media project that establishes Native history as an essential part of American history.