Skip to main content

Archives: About the Archives

We believe in the importance of facilitating the dissemination of knowledge and information in order to provide a broad view of history. In doing so, we acknowledge that materials in our collection reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times and should be considered records of the era in which they were produced. As they arose in different eras, they do not always represent the values that Lander University holds today.

Visiting the Archives

Available by appointment Monday - Friday during the academic year and Monday - Thursday during the summer. To make an appointment, please complete our Archives Appointment Form

Research in the Archives

If you would like assistance in researching materials in our archives. Please complete our Research Request Form. Due to the complexity of some research requests, please allow 3 - 5 business days for handling.

From the Archives

Archive shot of Lander College Christian Association Staff
Archived shot of the entrance to the college
Archive shot of people at the pool
Archive shot of college band members
Archive shots of women at the radio station
Archive shot of women field hockey players
Archive shot of the Amphitheater
Archive shot of the Lander Bearcat logo on the wall of the arena
Archive shot of students outside on a quad
Archive shot of female students painting outside
Archive shot of students in the old library building
Archive shot of a student on a bike with a dog
Archive shot of students with the old mascot Big Blue
Archive shot of a student leader leading robbed faculty members
Archive shot of male music teacher helping female students
Archive shot of female student inside dorm in the 1970s
Archive shot of students welcoming students to Chipley Hall

South Carolina Digital Library

The South Carolina Digital Library contains archival materials from around the state of South Carolina including collections from Lander University.