Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health: Bearcat Search Tips

Article Search

When looking for scholarly articles start with a Bearcat Article Search. This is part of the library catalog, and can be used to search specifically for articles from periodicals such as scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines. 

For best results, use simple search strings made up of keywords and Boolean operators

For example: Diabetes OR Diabetes Mellitus AND Prevention

Checkout the library video tutorials for a quick overview of a Bearcat Article Search

 

      

Not every database will appear in your search results. Be sure to check out our standalone databases too.

Article Search with A-Z list

The Bearcat Article Search conducts a broad searches across our databases, this means you can have extensive results.

If you would like a more specific search with fewer results, you may prefer to search in one database at a time. Use the A-Z database list to select an individual database. You will also use this list to access databases which cannot be accessed through Bearcat Search.

If you do not know which database to choose, see the Best Bets Databases suggested on the Home tab

A-Z Database Search

Search for research databases to access quality research articles and sources alphabetically.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Book Search

 A Bearcat Catalog Search will give you results for physical books, journals, music, and streaming services. You can use the filters to refine your search results. 

If you want to search for books only, you can select "Books" from Resource Type.

To search for eBooks, within Bearcat Search select the eBook option from the drop-down menu on the search bar or advanced search options.

 

      

Other ways to access books and articles

Books

If you are unable to locate a book you need, try a PASCAL Delivers search. You can request the book from another South Carolina academic library using this search option. Checkout the library video tutorials for a quick overview on using PASCAL Delivers.

If you cannot locate the book in PASCAL Delivers, try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. 

Articles

If you are not finding the article results you need, try a Google Scholar search

You can also use Bearcat Search to find information on articles which Jackson Library does NOT have full-text access to. Use the "include abstract-only results" filter to include records for articles which the library does not have direct access. 

You can request these articles using Interlibrary Loan