Public Health: Public Resources

The DailyMed database contains labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies.

Selected statistics on a variety of health topics, the latest data in reports, databases, and other resources.

The CDC Office of Genomics and Precision Public Health (OGPPH) provides timely and credible information for the effective and responsible translation of genomics and precision health advances into public health and health care.

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.

Reports on trends in health statistics.

List of genomics databases provided by the CDC.

Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Powered by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this site provides current consumer information on medical terms and conditions, drugs, herbs, and supplements. English and Spanish. For general Public.

Learn about on mental illness, including where to find help, and research. English and Spanish. For general public, health care providers and emergency preparedness professionals.

See which screening tests and vaccines you or a loved one need to stay healthy.

Read online publications and find information on health topics specifically geared to women. English and Spanish. For general public and health care providers.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention

Workplace health programs refer to a coordinated and comprehensive set of strategies which include programs, policies, benefits, environmental supports, and links to the surrounding community designed to meet the health and safety needs of all employees.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) provides effective health and human services by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) plays a vital role in keeping the nation healthy.

Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them.

Working Well is a comprehensive worksite wellness strategy working to establish cultures of healthy living and improved population health in South Carolina.

These stories feature model programs and successful rural projects that can serve as a source of ideas.

District Wellness Policy
A local wellness policy is a written document that guides local education agencies (LEA) or school district’s efforts to establish a school environment that promotes students’ health, well-being, and ability to learn.

Evidence-based programs (EBPs) support healthy lifestyles and promote healthy behaviors in SC residents 60 and over.

The State Board of Education approved the South Carolina Academic Standards for Health and Safety Education on August 8, 2017. These Standards provide the scope and sequence for age appropriate comprehensive health education. The SC Standards are based on the 2007 National Health Education Standards.