Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Public Health Subject Guide!
LU’s BS in Public Health is designed to prepare a workforce to help individuals, families, and communities maintain personal health.
Start here for quick access to best bet databases, useful library links, and additional resources. Checkout the other tabs for more, useful resources and research help.
Best Bet Databases
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics include 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
PubMED This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
MedLine with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and health focus.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational literature and resources.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Broad view of the behavioral and social sciences.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases with an extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
SportDISCUS with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Fitness, health and sport studies.
Stat!REF This link opens in a new window
Over 50 healthcare disciplines with the latest healthcare information.
Consumer Health Databases
Consumer Health Complete (alternate)
Health and wellness topics with access to up-to-date, concise, and clinically relevant drug monographs.
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends.
Additional Library Databases
Search for research databases to access quality research articles and sources alphabetically.
South Carolina Public Health Association, affiliate of the APHA.
NASPA supports and develops student affairs professionals working towards cultivating wellness in our institutional communities.
The National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc.
Quick links to Government resources