JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources.
Test preparation materials for career and professional certifications that will help South Carolina students preparing to enter the workforce. The eLibrary includes study materials for more than 1,800 different exams covering 16 different subject areas, including nursing, teaching, construction, psychology, social work, finance, med-tech, and law.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
We are not evaluating any trial resources at this time.
An archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829-1922. Includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, this database offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture.
Contains primary source material.
Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases with an extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
An archive from the New-York Historical Society of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced from both Northern and Southern perspectives.
Independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This database is not compatible with Firefox. You must access via another internet browser such as Internet Explorer or Google Chrome.
Accurate, up-to-date biographies including celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, scientists, and many others.
Resources for users to assess their career goals and interests, plan their education, learn workplace skills, find apprenticeships and internships, conduct a job search, and much more.
Raw data about crime, its solutions, and the popular response, focusing on the most rapid period of evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems: the long nineteenth century. This archive comprises more than 2 million pages of manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals.
Primary source materials on Far-Right and fascist movements as well as radical left groups. Explore the origins and development of present-day issues, including the resurgence of right-wing politics, evolution of various civil rights movements and the nature of extreme or radical political thought.
A broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
Archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1756-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on over 25,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
Test preparation materials for career and professional certifications that will help South Carolina students preparing to enter the workforce. The eLibrary includes study materials for more than 1,800 different exams covering 16 different subject areas, including nursing, teaching, construction, psychology, social work, finance, med-tech, and law.
Indexes thousands of theses and dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present and provides links to full text, when available.
Browse and borrow academic, literary, and popular eBooks and audiobooks. You can access from your browser, or by downloading the Libby app to your device and adding your library card from PASCAL Consortium (sign in with your Lander credentials).
The OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
(K-3) Learn about animal behavior, classification and habitats, and discover physical, life, earth, and space sciences, along with engineering and technology. Includes read-aloud articles, videos, games, and range maps in English and Spanish. Correlates with SC Standards. Lesson plans and activities for educators.
(Grades 3-5) Actors, American Indians, Explorers, Scientists, and Women are a few categories found in this content-rich resource. Includes read-aloud technology. Images, video, and audio are included with each article. Correlates with SC Standards.
Over 30,000 plays from Antiquity to the present and covers a wide range of plays, including mysteries, pageants, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega is a database providing full text, indexing and abstracts for a broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment. It is ideal for educators, students and patrons seeking current events, curriculum support and popular periodicals.
Explore South Carolina through StudySC! Learn about your community, South Carolina history, and the people who have made a significant impact on the state and the world.
More than 267,000 resources about children’s and young adult books that empower K-12 educators to identify books for readers and provide support for book assignments and author studies. Subject areas include ELA, History, Math, STEAM, Science, and more.
Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, and scientific discoveries with these full-text articles, biographies, international newspapers, and public opinion polls.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Get expert help in a subject of your choice. This resource is provided to South Carolina residents through the State Library's virtual library, DISCUS. If prompted for a password use discus2025.
For Grades 2-5. Includes large images, easy to read text, and easy navigation. There are over 300 videos, science projects, games, maps, and Educator Resources.
For Grades 6-9. ‘Take a Stand’ Debate Topics - Animal testing, homework, social media influences, voting age, etc. Also included are science projects, homework help videos and reference guides, and Educator Resources.
