Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PEES 283: PEES 283

Need Help Getting Started?

If you need help getting started using the library's resources start with our Library Help Tutorials.

Database Speed Dating Activity

Here is the worksheet you will use to complete the assignment.

Credibility?

NCSU Libraries, 2015

Evaluating Sources

Currency: the timeliness of the information

Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs

Authority: the source of the information

Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

Purpose: the reason the information exists

Bearcat Search

 

      

Create your OpenAthens account: The way you log into our digital resources has changed! To access, follow this simple two-step process to register for your new OpenAthens account using your Lander email address (Note: a confirmation link will be emailed to you).
Using Bearcat Search: Not every database will appear in your search results. Be sure to check out our standalone databases too. Learn more about how to use our new system, Bearcat Search.

Suggested Databases

Need More Resources?

If you can't find books or articles through our Library, look through our statewide consortium PASCAL.

Still need more resources? Request books or articles from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL), usually free of charge to current Lander students, faculty, and staff.

Choosing the Best Database

When choosing databases to use for your research, there are several factors to consider:

  • the academic subjects covered (does your topic span outside your discipline?)
  • the types of materials included (e.g. scholarly journal articles, professional reports, images of works of art, encyclopedia articles, popular magazine articles)
  • the availability of full text of articles
  • date range of materials covered

If you have a general topic, and are not sure where to search, it is a good idea to start in Academic Search Complete, which is a general database with some information on almost every topic.

Choosing the right database is one of the most important parts of the research process. If you are not familiar with the databases, ask a librarian for help.

Citing Your Sources

Citation Help

Need help with citations? It's always best to go to the source. Check out our Citation Resources page.

If you need one-on-one assistance, contact the Lander University Writing Center for an appointment.

WDYK (What Do You Know)