Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarians will be here all summer to support your research needs. We also give great recommendations for summer reading.

Music: Music - Getting Started

Welcome to the Music subject guide!

This guide provides you with a selection of music related resources,  including those available through the library, and free online materials. On this page are library resources to get you started with your research; for how-to information on finding resources please check out: 

Searching for Resources or Video Tutorials.

 

**Jackson Library now provides access to Grove Music Online in addition to the print volumes of The Grove Dictionary of American Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera.

Services to music students

Music majors may borrow scores and books for an entire semester.

Music majors may also check out a turntable for one week in order to listen to LPs.

Bearcat Search

 

      

Databases for research

When conducting research you may prefer to search within individual databases. Check out this database list curated for music majors.

Ask a Librarian

Reserve an appoinment with a reference librarian for an in-depth research session.

Need to ask a question but aren't on campus? Check out our Contact Us page.

Schedule Online Research Help