chat loading...
Skip to main content
The way you log into our research databases has changed! To access, register for your new OpenAthens account. Activating permissions for new accounts may take up to 24 hours. Contact library@lander.edu with questions.

MONT 470/683: MONT 470/683

Overview Tutorial

Choosing the Best Database

When choosing databases to use for your research, there are several factors to consider:

  • the academic subjects covered (does your topic span outside your discipline?)
  • the types of materials included (e.g. scholarly journal articles, professional reports, images of works of art, encyclopedia articles, popular magazine articles)
  • the availability of full text of articles
  • date range of materials covered

If you have a general topic, and are not sure where to search, it is a good idea to start in Academic Search Complete, which is a general database with some information on almost every topic.

Choosing the right database is one of the most important parts of the research process. If you are not familiar with the databases, ask a librarian for help.

Suggested Databases

APA Citation

Tip! The citations you can copy from EBSCOhost almost always have the wrong formatting, ex. capitalization. Be sure to correct those if you use them.

Peer Review

What is the peer review process?

The peer review process is a method used by scholarly journals to assure the quality and relevance of the articles they publish. When articles are submitted, the editor sends copies to reviewers who are experts in the subject of the article. Reviewers read the article and offer an opinion on whether it is worthy of publication in the journal, whether the author shows adequate knowledge of the research on the subject to date, and whether the article adds to knowledge in the field. If selected the article will be considered a peer reviewed (referred) article and published in a peer reviewed journal.

Where do I find peer reviewed articles? 

The easiest and fastest way to find peer reviewed articles is to search library databases, many of which include peer-reviewed journals. To make sure your results come from peer-reviewed (also called "scholarly" or "academic") journals select the limiter for peer reviewed only.