English & Literature - Getting started - English and Literature

Welcome to the English Subject Guide for Research

Here you will find recommended databases, journals, and MLA citation style guides for the subject of English. Visit the tabs above to see guides for specific English courses at Lander University, how to find print books in the library, and foreign language resources.

Top 3 English Research Databases

More English resources are available at A-Z Databases.

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains full-text articles, book reviews, and some primary source material.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays.

Finding Individual English Journals in Bearcat Search

Use Journal Search to look for individual English journal titles.
View all journals in the English category.
Juried journals are clearly marked with a peer reviewed icon.

MLA Citation Style (Modern Languages Association of America)

Digital Resources
Print Resources

The MLA Style Center
Get started with MLA style. Learn how to document sources, set up your paper, and improve your teaching and writing.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Ready Reference LB2369.M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-05-30