Welcome to the Media & Communication Subject Guide. Here you will find recommended databases, digital magazines and newspapers, tips for using the library catalog, and AP citation style guides. Visit the tabs above to see guides for specific media & communication courses at Lander University.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega is a database providing full text, indexing and abstracts for a broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment. It is ideal for educators, students and patrons seeking current events, curriculum support and popular periodicals.
This link opens in a new window
Get complimentary access to NYTimes.com. You must use your @lander.edu email address to activate, and you will need to re-activate each year.
Business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada.
Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through the ProQuest database.
Searching for books
Bearcat Search allows you to search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Locating books on the shelf
Every library book has a unique call number, ex. The pen and the sword: press, war, and terror in the 21st century's call number is PN4784.T45 E96 2010. This is the book's physical address. You match up the call number in the catalog with the label on the spine of the book you wish to retrieve.
Our circulating book collection is on the top floor of the library. Browse the below call # sections to see topics in mass communication.
PN1990-1992.92 Broadcasting
PN4699-5650 Journalism. The periodical press, etc.
The Associated Press Stylebook 2019 by 
Use this form to let the Lander University librarians know your suggestions for books, media, or other information resources.
