Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarians will be here all summer to support your research needs. We also give great recommendations for summer reading.

Media & Communication: Media & Communication

Bearcat Search: Discover Quality Research Resources

 

      

Search Lander's Library collection for print books, journals, digital media, and audiovisual materials.

View My Account

Need any help using this system? Get in touch!

 

      

Search for eBooks available to read in instant full-text online.

View My Account

Need any help using this system? Get in touch!

 

      

Search for articles from publications including peer-reviewed journals. (Not every database appears in search results. Check our A-Z Databases list too.)

View My Account

Need any help using this system? Get in touch!

 

      

Search for books, articles, and videos reserved by instructors to support coursework. Request to borrow course reserves at the Library's service desk.

View My Account

Need any help using this system? Get in touch!

 

      

Search for books available to request for rapid delivery from more than 50 academic libraries in South Carolina.

View My Account

Need any help using this system? Get in touch!

Tips for searching the library catalog

Searching for books

Bearcat Search allows you to search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword.  

Locating books on the shelf

Every library book has a unique call number, ex. The pen and the sword: press, war, and terror in the 21st century's call number is PN4784.T45 E96 2010. This is the book's physical address. You match up the call number in the catalog with the label on the spine of the book you wish to retrieve.

  • PN (First you find the P's. They will be arranged alphabetically: PAs, PBs, etc., so you'll look for the PNs)
  • 4784 (The PNs will be arranged numerically: PN1, PN2, PN3, etc, so you'll find PN4784)
  • Proceed in alphabetical/numerical order through the rest of the call # until you reach the book on the self.

Browse our book collection

Our circulating book collection is on the top floor of the library. Browse the below call # sections to see topics in mass communication.

PN1990-1992.92 Broadcasting

  • PN1991-1991.9 Radio broadcasts
  • PN1992-1992.92 Television broadcasts

PN4699-5650 Journalism. The periodical press, etc.

  • PN4735-4748 Relation to the state. Government and the press. Liberty of the press.
  • PN4775-4784 Technique. Practical journalism
  • PN4825-4830 Amateur journalism

 

 

Suggested research databases

Flipster magazines

Our browsing collection of digital periodicals. Check out this video or getting started guide to learn more.

Current News Resources

AP Style Guide (Associated Press)

More Citation Styles

Need help with citations? It's always best to go to the source. Check out our Citation Resources page.

If you need one-on-one assistance, contact the Lander University Writing Center for an appointment.