chat loading...
Skip to main content
The way you log into our research databases has changed! To access, register for your new OpenAthens account. Activating permissions for new accounts may take up to 24 hours. Contact library@lander.edu with questions.

Archives: Self Family Foundation Archives

Welcome to the Self Family Foundation Archives

In 1942, James C. Self, founder of the Greenwood Mills, wanted to construct and maintain a hospital for the Greenwood community. This single goal expanded into the Self Family Foundation that works to fund and support civic activities within the community by focusing on social, health and educational initiatives that better serve Greenwood and its surrounding counties.  Since 1942, the Self Family Foundation has awarded more than $60 million in grants to improve life for citizens of Greenwood and throughout South Carolina.

In 1955, James Self’s son, Jim Self, became Chairman of the Foundation. Jim Self worked to enhance his father’s principles for several decades by primarily focusing on building a better health care and educational system and improving the quality of life in Greenwood County.  

In 1996, Jim Self resigned as chairman of the Foundation, and his daughter, Virginia Preston Self, was elected by her siblings to become the new chairman. Though she kept all previous principles that her grandfather and father built, Virginia Self has also focused on community wellness, cultural opportunities, intellectual and social development of youth, and school readiness.

In 2012, the Foundation's archives relocated to the Self Foundation Archives Room in Jackson Library at Lander University.

The following can be found within the archives:

  • Self Family Foundation history and correspondence;
  • James C. Self history, records, and correspondence;
  • Self family photographs, correspondence, memorabilia, and regalia;
  • Greenwood Mills history, photographs, correspondence, and regalia;
  • textile industry history;
  • City of Greenwood history;
  • Greenwood County history;
  • South Carolina history;
  • United States history;
  • and Self family genealogy.

On Virginia’s death in 2013, her brother Mat Self was elected chair. In 2018, the fourth generation of the Self family assumed leadership with the election of James (Jay) C. Self III as chair. The fourth generation has honed the Foundation’s focus areas to include education, community development, and access to arts and culture, with an emphasis on early childhood.

From the Archives

Self General Hospital archive picture
Self Memorial Baptist Church archive picture
Greenwood Mills archive picture, interior
Greenwood Mills archive picture

Self Family Foundation Collections

scdl (2)