chat loading...
Skip to main content
The way you log into our research databases has changed! To access, register for your new OpenAthens account. Activating permissions for new accounts may take up to 24 hours. Contact library@lander.edu with questions.

Archives: Lander University Archives

Reading Room

The Lander University Archives Reading Room located upstairs within the Jackson Library.

 

Welcome to the Lander University Archives

Lander University is rooted in rich history. The university began as Williamston Female College in 1872 by the Reverend Dr. Samuel Lander in the small town of Williamston, South Carolina. The college was housed in an abandon hotel within the town’s center In 1898, the college became supported by the South Carolina Methodist Conference. The college later moved to Greenwood, South Carolina in 1904 and changed its name to Lander College to honor founder Samuel Lander upon his passing. The college remained a female only college until 1943 when the first male day students were admitted. In 1948, Greenwood County became interested in the college when the Methodist Conference began consideration of ending its support for the institution. Greenwood County obtained the college name and property from the Methodist Conference in 1951. In July 1973, the college became a state assisted institution. Lander College became Lander University on July 1, 1992.

(Corner stone laying in Greenwood by Dr. Samuel Lander - May 2, 1904)

‚ÄčThe Lander University Archives serve as the institution’s memory. The Lander University Archives Reading Room houses university related archival materials, including university catalogs; student handbooks; yearbooks dating back to 1923; student, faculty and university publications; and unique historical objects from Lander’s history. Other materials are maintained in archival storage and available for use by students, faculty, staff, and community members. Rare finds within the collection include Samuel Lander’s textbook, On Arithmetic, his 1872 personal diary, and some of Dr. Lander’s sermons.

 

Lander Collections

scdl (2)