Skip to main content

Rare Books & Special Collections: Rare Books & Special Collections

Welcome to the Rare Books and Special Collections

Jackson Library has a Rare Books and Special Collections Reading Room on the main floor of the library. Materials consists of monographs on local and state history. Rare Books and Special Collections houses the Samuel Lander Collection, a collection of material donated by the university’s founder to make up the college’s original library and the Watson Collection, monographs and pamphlets collected by Harry Legare Watson (1876-1956), the editor and publisher of the Index-Journal. The Watson collection is over 800 volumes of books and magazines. 

                                  

                                                           Dr. Samuel Lander                                                           Harry Legare Watson                                                                                                            Founder and First President                                   President of the Index Journal Company                                                  Williamston Female College

South Carolina Periodicals

Jackson Library does have a large collection of the Sandlapper Magazine. The print collection can be found within the reference shelves on the main floor of the library.

Rare Book Special Collections Reading Room

Rare Books and Special Collections

Rare Books and Special Collections Reading Room is located on the Library's top floor in the Self Family Foundation Archives Reading Room. 

Schedule an Appointment

Schedule an appointment to access the materials in our Rare Books and Special Collections.