Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Chicago/Turabian

Helpful Citation Links for Chicago and Turabian

The Citation Machine allows you to fill in the appropriate fields of data and then have your citation prepared for you.

Chicago/Turabian

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. The humanities style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography.

The more concise author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author's last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Turabian

Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two documentation systems, notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and parenthetical citations-reference list style (or reference list style). 

Bibliography style is used widely in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in footnotes or endnotes and, usually, a bibliography.

The more concise reference list style has long been used in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in parentheses in the text by author's last name and date of publication. 

Library Resources

You can ask for these sources at the reference desk.